In case of a collision or accident, the operator of a vessel shall render assistance as is practicable and neccessary so long as this action does not gravely endanger their own vessel, crew and passengers.
In some cases, the boater operating the vessel must submit a written accident report.
Virginia law requires the operator of a recreational vessel involved in an accident to file a written report when there is:
A report must be submitted within 48 hours if:
A report must be submitted within 10 days if:
Boating Accident Report forms are obtained from local law enforcement authorities, Department Conservation Police Officers, VDGIF website, and all Department offices. You may submit the completed forms in person or send them to the Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries
The boat operator or owner usually completes the form unless he is physically unable to do so.
Boating Accident Report Forms are available at: