Now you can
go boating!

Get your Official Ohio boating license today!

Free first chapter


More boaters, more savings

We want to facilitate access to our boating safety course for groups and families. The more you are, the less you pay!

Save  $ - Pay only  $

A complete 3-hour course… well organized in 7 chapters

Available 24/7
Online Support
On all your devices
  • Study at your pace
  • The card is valid for life
  • Exam retries are free
GPS Maps

Who needs to take a boating safety course in Ohio?

Ohio boating license

Ohio law requires any boat operator born on or after January 1, 1982 to successfully complete a boating safety course approved by the (NASBLA) before operating any craft powered by greater than 10 horsepower.

Take your Official Ohio Boating License Test online now and be certified for life across U.S.A.


Study at your own pace

  • Start the course for free

  • Pay only $ 39.95 (online course, final test and online certificate included)
  • Complete and easy-to-read study guide approved by Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Division of Watercraft

Well Designed
Customer Support
Chapter 1

Boating safety course introduction

  • Mandatory boater education
  • Boating terminology
  • Registration & Titling
Try for free
Chapter 2

Boating Equipment

  • Personal Flotation Devices (PFDs)
  • Navigation light equipment
  • Other recommended equipment
Chapter 3

Trip Planning and Preparation

  • Pre-departure checklist
  • Launching & Retrieving a boat from the water
  • Boat preventive maintenance
Chapter 4

Safe Boat Operation

  • Operator responsibilities
  • Navigation rules
  • Meeting situations
Chapter 5

Getting Underway

  • U.S. Aids to navigation system
  • Docking & Undocking
  • Procedures for Anchoring
Chapter 6

Emergency Preparedness

  • Boating accidents
  • Surviving in cold water
  • Rendering assistance - Accident report
Chapter 7

Other Water Activities

  • Water skiing & towed devices
  • Water-Jet Propelled Watercraft (PWC)
  • Marine environment

Crystal clear. Our team works hard to develop intuitive and effective training. No endless reading, interactive learning is the key to success!


Take the final test

  • The boating exam consists of 60 multiple choice questions.

  • Open-book final test.

  • Free exam retries - risk free!


Print your certificate

  • Print your certificate and start boating now!

  • Your certificate is good for life.

  • You'll receive a wallet-sized card within 4 to 6 weeks.

We are so sure that you'll like it that we give you the opportunity to register for free!

First chapter is on us!✌️

Start the boater safety course for free, satisfaction guaranteed. Then pay $ 39.95 and complete the online course and the final test. You'll be certified for life!

I loved how easy and simple the steps where to achieve the online course. I felt very prepared for the boating exam.... I love AceBoater and recommend it to anyone looking to get their boating license. 😍
AceBoater was both inexpensive and informative. I learned what I needed about navigating. Thanks AceBoater!
Excellent experience! Simple, fun and relevant. I feel confident and well equipped. I recommend!!

More than 500 000 boaters have trusted us

AceBoater is the best way to get your boating license and to have the freedom to go boating when you want, by yourself or with friends and family!

15 000 + reviews
15 000 + reviews Team

Made by passionate people

We wanted to create the most interactive and user-friendly online pleasure craft training platform for you. Our goal: to provide a clear, comprehensive and fun boater safety course, so that you can get on with the theory and go boating... NOW! Team

FAQ - Boating in Ohio

Do I need a boating safety certificate if I'm only operating a jet ski/PWC in Ohio?

To operate a motorized vessel – including PWC – of 10 horsepower or more in Ohio, everyone born on or after January 1, 1982 must be able to prove they have successfully completed an approved boating safety course.

Who is exempt from having to acquire a boating safety course?

Operators who possess a valid merchant mariner credential issued by the U.S. Coast Guard with at least one endorsement of master or operator. Credentials must be carried on board.

No rental business shall lease or rent a powerboat of more than 10 horsepower to a person born on or after January 1, 1982 unless the person has completed an approved boating course or passes an abbreviated exam with a score of 90% or better.

I do not have a driver's license. Can I still get the Ohio Boating Safety Certificate?

You are not required to have a state driver's license in order to obtain a boating education course.

Is Ohio Boating Safety Certificate accepted in other states?

Yes. All states that require boating education certification will recognize the Ohio Boat Operator's Certificate, due to a NASBLA-approved course reciprocity for non-residents.

What are the age restrictions to drive a motorboat in Ohio?

For PWC (Personal Watercraft, known by the common trade names of Ski-Doo, Waverunner, SeaDoo, etc.):

  • Children under 12 may not operate PWC, not even with an education certificate.
  • Children 12 to 15 can operate PWC as long as they are under the direct supervision of an adult (18 or older) who is onboard AND as long as the child AND the supervising adult (if born on or after January 1, 1982) have education certificates.
  • Children 16 or older can operate PWC as long as they have an education certificate. Adult supervision is not required.

For Powerboats (besides PWC) greater than 10 HP:

  • Children under 12 can operate any other type of powerboat greater than 10HP as long as they are under the direct supervision of an adult (18 or older) who is onboard AND as long as the child AND the supervising adult (if born on or after January 1, 1982) have education certificates.
  • Children 12 and over may operate any other type of powerboat greater than 10HP as long as they have an education certificate. Adult supervision is not required.
Do you need to register your boat in Ohio?

Boat Registrations are required for every recreational boat in Ohio, including powerboats, sailboats, jet skis, canoes, kayaks, pedal boats, and inflatable boats.

At what minimum age can a person be certified in Ohio?

No age limit as long as they can pass the test.

Do I need a boating education certificate to rent a boat?

If you are born on or after January 1, 1982, you can't rent a boat powered by more than 10 horsepower unless you present a certificate from a NASBLA-approved boating education course or proficiency test, or sign a legal statement that says you possess the certificate, or take an on-site abbreviated test and successfully pass it with a score of 90 percent or better. This certificate will be valid only for the period of the rental agreement.

How can I get a replacement boating education card if I've lost it?

Before we can replace your boating card we must be sure that we originally issued it to you. Check with us by calling our toll-free number at 1 877 661-1938 to talk to an agent, or send us an email including your date of birth and we will contact you by email within 24 hours, during our office hours.

If you are certain that you took your online course with, please log into your dashboard and click on "Order Replacement Cards".

You may go to to order a new card if you already know that you obtained the card from another course provider.

Why should I choose
  • we have hundreds of illustrations that will help you to better understand the content;

  • our online course is available 24/7.

  • you can access our online support by phone, email or chat.

  • we offer multi-platform training.

  • our Policy has always been, "Satisfaction guaranteed or your money back"!

How long are boating safety certificates valid in Ohio?

Forever - they do not expire.

What does the course cost?

Only $ 39.95 (online course, final test and online certificate included).

Try for free