Now you can
go boating!

Hawaii boating license

Start the course for free
florida-4

Who needs to take an approved boating safety course in Hawaii?

hawaii-card

Hawaii law requires that any boaters who operate a power-driven vessel propelled by a motor greater than 10 horsepower, even vessels propelled primarily by wind/sail that is equipped with an auxiliary engine to successfully complete a boating safety course approved by the (NASBLA).

1

Study at your own pace

  • Pay only when you pass.

  • Complete and easy-to-read study guide.

  • Only $ 34.95 (online course, final test and online certificate included).

Simplicity
Well Designed
Customer Support
Accredited
Chapter 1

Boating safety course introduction

  • Mandatory boater education
  • Boating terminology
  • Registration & Titling
Try for free
Chapter 2

Boating Equipment

  • Personal Flotation Devices (PFDs)
  • Navigation light equipment
  • Other recommended equipment
Chapter 3

Trip Planning and Preparation

  • Pre-departure checklist
  • Launching & Retrieving a boat from the water
  • Boat preventive maintenance
Chapter 4

Safe Boat Operation

  • Operator responsibilities
  • Navigation rules
  • U.S. Aids to navigation system
Chapter 5

Getting Underway

  • Docking & Undocking
  • Procedures for Anchoring
  • Carbon Monoxide Poisoning
Chapter 6

Emergency Preparedness

  • Boating accidents
  • Surviving in cold water
  • Rendering assistance - Accident report
Chapter 7

Other Water Activities

  • Small boats - Special dangers
  • Water skiing & towed devices
  • Water-Jet Propelled Watercraft (PWC)

Crystal clear. Our team works hard to develop intuitive and effective training. No endless reading, interactive learning is the key to success!

2

Take the final test

  • The exam consists of 60 multiple choice questions.

  • Free exam retries - Risk free!

phone-and-card
3

Print your boating license

  • Print your certificate and start boating now!

  • Your certificate is good for life.

  • You'll receive a wallet-sized card within 4-6 weeks.

We know you will like it, but give it a try.

It's free to register!✌️

Start the hunter safety course for free, satisfaction guaranteed. Study at your own pace. Pay when you pass. Only $ 34.95. And you'll be certified for life!

Start the course for free
1
1
I loved how easy and simple the steps where to achieve the online course. I felt very prepared for the boating exam.... I love AceBoater and recommend it to anyone looking to get their boating license. 😍
2
3
4
5
6
6
AceBoater was both inexpensive and informative. I learned what I needed about navigating. Thanks AceBoater!
7
8
8
Excellent experience! Simple, fun and relevant. I feel confident and well equipped. I recommend!!

More than 500 000 boaters have trusted us

AceBoater is the best way to get your boating license and to have the freedom to go boating when you want, by yourself or with friends and family!

15 000 + reviews
15 000 + reviews

More boaters, more savings

We want to facilitate access to our boating safety course for groups and families. The more you are, the less you pay!

Save  $ - Pay only  $
$

A complete 3-hour course… well organized in 7 chapters

Available 24/7
Online Support
On all your devices
  • Study at your pace
  • The card is valid for life
  • Exam retries are free
Buy now
GPS Maps
Flash Light
Team faces
passionate-people

Made by passionate people

We wanted to create the most interactive and user-friendly online pleasure craft training platform for you. Our goal: to provide a clear, comprehensive and fun boater safety course, so that you can get on with the theory and go boating... NOW!

Team faces on mobile

FAQ - Boating in Hawaii

Do I need a boating license to operate a watercraft in Hawaii?

Hawaii law requires that any boaters who operate a power-driven vessel propelled by a motor greater than 10 horsepower, even vessels propelled primarily by wind/sail that is equipped with an auxiliary engine to successfully complete a boating education course approved by the (NASBLA).

Who is exempt from having to acquire a boating license?

Any person operating a power-driven vessel propelled by a motor greater than 10 horsepower, or a vessel propelled primarily by wind/sail that is equipped with an auxiliary engine on the waters of Hawaii must possess a certificate of completion from a NASBLA-approved course in regards to safe use and operation of a power-driven vessel that contains a component on Hawaii waters approved by the Hawaii Department of Land and Natural Resources.

Persons exempt from the rule:

  • Holders of a current and valid merchant mariner credential issued by the US Coast Guard,

  • Operators of a thrill craft* operating in a commercial thrill craft riding zone,

  • Persons holding or receiving a certificate of completion for thrill craft operation under HAR 13-256-16,

  • Owners of vessels powered by engines of 10 horsepower or less,

  • Owners of vessels on a voyage originating outside of the State and remaining in Hawaii's waters less than 60 days.

A person renting a vessel is also required to comply with these rules or undergo a safety briefing (from the livery) that is approved by the State of Hawaii.

*Thrill Craft: any motorized vessel that can be categorized as a personal watercraft (PWC) and which is:

  • Less than 13 feet in length as manufactured,

  • Capable of exceeding a speed of 20 miles per hour,

  • Operated by a single person sitting, standing, kneeling on, or being towed behind the vessel; it may also have the capacity to carry passengers,

  • Similar to a PWC regarding operating performance (due to its size, power and hull design),

  • Powered by an internal combustion engine that drives a water jet pump as its primary source of propulsion.

Thrill Craft include jet skis, wave-runners, wet bikes, surf jets, miniature speedboats, and hovercraft.

DISCLAIMER: The content of this course is only a portion of what is required for thrill craft certification in the State of Hawaii. It does not certify you to operate a thrill craft or tow-in surf. According to Hawaii Administrative Rules, to legally operate a thrill craft in Hawaii and engage in the sport of tow-in surfing, you must complete the appropriate State-approved course offered by an institution of higher education in the safe operation of this type of vessel. For more information, visit the Hawaii Division of Boating and Ocean Recreation web site.

I do not have a driver's license. Can I still get the Hawaii boating license?

You are not required to have a state driver's license in order to obtain a boating education course.

Is the Hawaii boating license accepted in other states?

Yes. All states that require boating education certification will recognize the Hawaii Boat Operator's Certificate, due to a NASBLA-approved course reciprocity for non-residents.

What are the age restrictions to drive a motorboat in Hawaii?

It is illegal for any person under the age of 15 to operate a PWC. Additionally, it is illegal to permit, or mislead another person into permitting, a person under 15 years of age to operate a PWC.

A person under the age of 16 is not permitted to operate a power-driven vessel on the waters of Hawaii unless accompanied on-board and supervised by a person of 21 years of age or older who holds their required certificate of completion.

At what minimum age can a person be certified in Hawaii?

No age limit as long as they can pass the test.

Why should I choose ACEBOATER.com?
  • we have hundreds of illustrations that will help you to better understand the content;

  • our online course is available 24/7.

  • you can access our online support by phone, email or chat.

  • we offer multi-platform training.

  • our Policy has always been, "Satisfaction guaranteed or your money back"!

How long are boating licenses valid in Hawaii?

Forever - they do not expire.

What does the course cost?

Only $ 34.95 (online course, final test and online certificate included).

Start the course for free