Boating license requirements in North Dakota
The a boating safety course is required for youth ages 12-15 who want to operate by themselves a boat or personal watercraft with at least a 10 horsepower motor in North Dakota.
North Dakota boating laws & regulations
North Dakota PFD Regulations
North Dakota law requires a properly sized PFD for each person aboard a vessel. It is also required that all children ages 10 and younger to wear a personal flotation device while in boats of less than 27 feet in length. The law also requires all personal watercraft users to wear a life jacket, as well as anyone towed on skis, tubes, boards or other similar devices.
North Dakota Boating Under the Influence
No person may operate any motorboat or vessel, or manipulate any water-skis, surfboard or similar device while intoxicated or under the influence of any narcotic drug, barbiturate or marijuana.
Game wardens or law enforcement officers who have probable cause that a motorboat operator is under the influence of intoxicating liquor, drugs or a combination thereof may require the operator to take a test to determine his/her sobriety.
If the operator has an alcohol, drug or combination thereof, concentration of .10 or over, or the operator refuses to submit to testing, his/her operator privileges may be revoked in addition to other penalties.
The law does not prohibit people of legal drinking age from consuming alcoholic beverages or possessing open containers in a boat.
FAQ - Boating in North Dakota
- Who is required to take the boating safety course in North Dakota ?
- The a boating safety course is required for any youth aged 12-15 who plan to operate by themselves a boat or personal watercraft with at least a 10 horsepower motor in North Dakota.
- Who is exempt from the North Dakota boating license ?
The boating license is not required for persons 16 years of age and older.
- What are the age restrictions regarding boating safety in North Dakota?
No person under 12 years of age may operate a motorboat (includes personal watercraft, i.e., jetskis, etc.) propelled by more than a 10 horsepower motor unless the operator is accompanied by a person 18 years of age or older.
No person 12 through 15 years of age may operate a motorboat (includes personal watercraft, i.e., jetskis, etc.) propelled by more than a 10 horsepower motor unless the operator is accompanied by a person 18 years of age or older or the operator has taken and passed a boating course approved by the Department. No person may cause or knowingly permit a minor under 16 years of age to operate a motorboat propelled by more than a 10 horsepower motor unless the minor is otherwise authorized to do so by this section.
- Do I need to register my boat in North Dakota?
Owners of any watercraft propelled by motors must register their vessels with the North Dakota Game and Fish Department. The vessel owner will receive a Watercraft Registration certificate that must be available on the vessel when in operation.
- Is my boating license good in other States?
Every U.S. state that demands a boating license will accept Boating Education Licenses from other states that conform to NASBLA requirements as well.
You should follow your safety course in the State where you are resident.