Boating license requirements in New Hampshire
New Hampshire has a mandatory boating education law. Everyone 16 years of age and older who wishes to operate a motorboat over 25 horsepower on New Hampshire waters must have a valid NASBLA approved boating education certificate.
New Hampshire boating laws & regulations
State law requires one wearable life preserver for each person in a boat. All children age 12 or under must wear an approved vest or jacket.
New Hampshire BUI:
Boating while intoxicated is against the law in the State of NH. You may be charged with a BUI if your blood alcohol level is .08 or greater.
FAQ - Boating in New Hampshire
- Who is required to take the boating safety course in New Hampshire?
Everyone 16 years of age and older who operates a motorboat over 25 horsepower on New Hampshire waters must have a boating education certificate.
- Who is exempt from needing the New Hampshire boating license?
Operators are exempt from needing a New Hampshire boating license if they have a boating certificate issued by, or on behalf of, another state agency that is NASBLA approved.
- What are the age restrictions regarding boating safety in New Hampshire?
The minimum age required in order to obtain the NH boating license certificate is 16 years old.
- Do I need to register my boat in New Hampshire?
In New Hampshire, you're required to register:
All motorized vessels, regardless of size.
Sailboats and sailboards 12 ft or longer.
You DO NOT need to register:
Sailboat and sailboards less than 12 ft in length.
Non-motorized kayaks and canoes.
Any U.S. government vessel.
Any vessel registered in another state operating on New Hampshire waters for 30 consecutive days or less.
- Is my boating license good in other States?
Every U.S. state that demands a boating license will accept Boating Education Licenses from other states that conform to NASBLA requirements as well.
You should follow your safety course in the State where you are resident.