Boating license requirements in Mississippi
Effective July 1, 1997 any person born after June 30, 1980 must successfully complete a NASBLA approved Boating Safety Course to operate a boat on Mississippi waters .
Mississippi boating laws & regulations
Mississippi PFD regulations:
Anyone 12 years of age and younger must wear a Type I, II or III U.S. Coast Guard-approved PFD whenever underway in a vessel under 26 feet in length.
Each person riding on or being towed behind a personal watercraft must wear a Type I, II or III U.S. Coast Guard-approved PFD.
The Alcohol Boating Safety Act makes it unlawful to operate a watercraft on the public waters of the State of Mississippi while under the influence of intoxicating liquor (BAC of .08% or greater) or any other substance which has impaired the person’s ability to operate a watercraft.
FAQ - Boating in Mississippi
- Who is required to take the boating safety course in Mississippi?
Anyone born after June 30, 1980 must successfully complete a NASBLA approved Boating Safety Course to operate a boat on Mississippi waters .
- Who is exempt from needing the Mississippi boating license ?
Those exempt are people born prior to June 30, 1980 and operators who have previously successfully completed a NASBLA-approved Boating Safety Education Course are also exempt.
- What are the age restrictions regarding boating safety in Mississippi?
In addition to the boater education course requirement, a person under 12 years of age must also be accompanied onboard by someone who is at least 21 years old in order to legally operate a motorboat or a personal watercraft in Mississippi.
- Do I need to register my boat in Mississippi?
In Mississippi, ALL motorized vessels AND ALL sailboats must be registered with the Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks. The only exceptions are boats documented with the U.S. Coast Guard.
- Is my boating license good in other States?
Every U.S. state that demands a boating license will accept Boating Education Licenses from other states that conform to NASBLA requirements as well.
You should follow your safety course in the State where you are resident.