Boating education safety requirements Illinois
Persons born on or after January 1, 1998, may operate a vessel powered by a motor of more than 10 horsepower (hp) only if they have a valid Boating Safety Certificate accepted by the Illinois Department of Natural Resources.
Become a safe boater
The purpose of boating safety course is to develop knowledge, skills, and behaviors necessary to become safe, responsible boaters.
FAQ - Boating in Illinois
- Who is required to take the boating safety course in Illinois?
Persons born on or after January 1, 1998, must successfully complete a NASBLA approved boating safety course to legally operate a vessel powered by a motor of more than 10hp on Illinois waters.
- Who is exempt from Illinois boating license ?
Only those born prior to January 1, 1998 are exempt.
- What are the age restrictions regarding boating safety in Illinois?
No person under 10 years of age may operate a motorboat, including personal watercraft (PWC). Age 10 years and less than 12 years of age may only operate under a parent or guardian's direct control.
Persons at least 10 years old but less than 12 years old may operate a motorized vessel with more than 10 hp, including a PWC, only if they are accompanied by and under the direct control of a parent, a guardian, or a person at least 18 years old designated by the parent or guardian.
Persons at least 12 years old but less than 18 years old may operate a motorized vessel with more than 10 horsepower, including a PWC, only if:
They complete a boating safety course and possess a Boating Safety Certificate accepted by the Department of Natural Resources or…
They are accompanied by and under the direct control of a parent, a guardian, or a person at least 18 years old designated by the parent or guardian.
Parents, guardians, or designees born on or after January 1, 1998, must have a valid boating safety certificate to supervise a person 10 to 17 years old who is operating a motorized vessel with more than 10 hp.
- Do I need to register my boat in Illinois?
All watercraft other than non-powered watercraft operated on the waters within the jurisdiction of Illinois shall be registered.
All registered watercraft over 21 ft. in length are required to be titled.
State law requires that the purchaser of a watercraft shall complete and submit an application to the Department of Natural Resources for registration/titling within 15 days after purchase.
- Is my boating license good in other States?
Every U.S. state that demands a boating license will accept Boating Education Licenses from other states that conform to NASBLA requirements as well.
You should follow your safety course in the State where you are resident.