Ohio law requires any boat operator born on or after January 1, 1982 to successfully complete a boating safety course approved by the (NASBLA) before operating any craft powered by greater than 10 horsepower.
Take your Official Ohio Boating License Test online now and be certified for life across U.S.A.
Free Practice Test!
Available on :
Online course available 24/7.
Online support by phone, email or chat.
Take advantage of our group discounts for family and friends. Register together and get a discount of up to 30% for the online boating course!
To operate a motorized vessel – including PWC – of 10 horsepower or more in Ohio, everyone born on or after January 1, 1982 must be able to prove they have successfully completed an approved boating safety course.
Operators who possess a valid merchant mariner credential issued by the U.S. Coast Guard with at least one endorsement of master or operator. Credentials must be carried on board.
No rental business shall lease or rent a powerboat of more than 10 horsepower to a person born on or after January 1, 1982 unless the person has completed an approved boating course or passes an abbreviated exam with a score of 90% or better.
You are not required to have a state driver's license in order to obtain a boating education course.
Yes. All states that require boating education certification will recognize the Ohio Boat Operator's Certificate, due to a NASBLA-approved course reciprocity for non-residents.
Registrations are required for every recreational boat in Ohio, including powerboats, sailboats, jet skis, canoes, kayaks, pedal boats, and inflatable boats. More information.
No age limit as long as they can pass the test.
If you are born on or after January 1, 1982, you can't rent a boat powered by more than 10 horsepower unless you present a certificate from a NASBLA-approved boating education course or proficiency test, or sign a legal statement that says you possess the certificate, or take an on-site abbreviated test and successfully pass it with a score of 90 percent or better. This certificate will be valid only for the period of the rental agreement.
If you've received a plastic, wallet-size boating Education Card/Certificate from Ohio DNR Division of Parks & Watercraft you can receive a replacement as long as they can locate you in their database (began in November 1999). Call the nearest Watercraft office.
Forever - they do not expire.
Only $ 24.95 (online course, final test and online certificate included).