The Boating Education Certificate is not yet mandatory in the state of Alaska. However, if you want to be a safer and more confident boater, we strongly suggest that you take our online Boating Safety Education course and exam. The knowledge gained about safe boating behaviour can save your life in the cold Alaska waters and the fact of acquiring your certificate may result in lowering your boat insurance.
Available on :
Online course available 24/7.
Online support by phone, email or chat.
Take advantage of our group discounts for family and friends. Register together and get a discount of up to 30% for the online boating course!
You are not required to have a boating safety education certificate to operate a watercraft
in Alaska, however we highly recommend that you take our online course because:
- Having the card means that you passed a recognized boating safety course, which
is proof that you know how to operate safely on the water. Keep in mind that the
waters of Alaska are very cold and you should take all possible precautions to
avoid falling in
- The boating safety certificate is recognized in many states. Having it will allow
you to enjoy boating in other states
- You will save on boat insurance
- The boating education certificate will make you a safer and more confident
Many boats require registration to be used in Alaska. “Boat” refers to any watercraft used
capable of being used as a means of transportation on water.
All motorboats (including vessels with auxiliary motors) must be registered to be used on
waters of the State (rivers, streams, lakes and salt water within three miles of the shore).
All watercraft (including manually powered vessels such as kayaks and inflatable rafts)
must carry at least one US Coast Guard-approved wearable life jacket for each person on
board. Boats greater than 16 feet in length must also carry a US Coast Guard-approved
throwable flotation device.
It is illegal for a boat operator to be under the influence of alcohol or any other
intoxicating substance. If your blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08% or higher you are
considered to be “operating under the influence” and may be subject to fines and/or
imprisonment depending on the severity of the offense and any previous convictions.
There is no minimum age for boating in the state. However, Alaska boating regulations
require that the operator be at least 12 years old for activities such as waterskiing.
Operators younger than 12 must be accompanied at all times by someone at least 18 years